The Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Club has announced today that Brendan Taman has resigned from his position as VP Player Personnel.

"We truly are sorry to see Brendan leave after all that he has given to this organization over the years" said Lyle Bauer, President and CEO of the Winnipeg Football Club.

"Brendan's contributions are immense however we need to respect his decision and wish him nothing but the best in the future," added Bauer.

"After speaking with Brendan at length it is his desire to step away from the game at this time however that does not preclude future involvement such as Special Projects Consultant in the future if the circumstances are right".

Taman has been with the Winnipeg Football Club for 10 years, beginning in 1999 as the Assistant General Manager. He also held the title of VP of Player Personnel prior to spending the last five seasons as General Manager for the Blue Bombers.

Some of Taman's accomplishments include:

- Since 1999, 41 Blue Bomber players have been named CFL all-stars, including six players last season.

- Two Blue Bombers have been named the CFL's Most Outstanding Player. (Jones in 2001, Stegall in 2002)

- Signed two winners and one finalist of the CFL Rookie of the Year Award including Gavin Walls (winner in 2005), Charles Roberts (finalist in 2001), and Albert Johnson (winner in 2000).

- Signed two winners of the CFL's Outstanding Special Teams Award. (Johnson in 2001, Stokes in 2004)

- Brought several impact players to Winnipeg including Charles Roberts, Gavin Walls, Tom Canada, and Dan Goodspeed. Through trades, Taman has brought Doug Brown, Khari Jones, Kevin Glenn, and most recently Zeke Moreno to Winnipeg.

Taman and Bauer will be making public statements Tuesday afternoon.