Nominations have closed for the 2016 Manitoba provincial election.

A total of 223 candidates will appear on ballots across the province on April 19.

The deadline for nominations was 1 p.m. on Tuesday.

The number of candidates nominated for each party are:

-          Communist Party of Canada-Manitoba (6)

-          Liberal Party of Manitoba (52)

-          The Manitoba Party (16)

-          New Democratic Party of Manitoba (57)

-          The Green Party of Manitoba (31)

-          The Progressive Conservative Party of Manitoba (57)

-          Independent (4)

On Wednesday, the Liberals announced that one of their candidates – Joanne Levy in Gimli – had been disqualified because she worked as an enumerator earlier this year. Four other Liberal candidates were disqualified because of problems with their nomination forms.

Consequently, the Liberals do not have a full slate of candidates heading into the election.